Vintage Ephemera Friday #005

Ephemera is defined as something that is not meant to last long– often paper goods. I find myself picking up matchbook covers, postcards, and old magazines at estate sales, flea markets, etc. I know that there are plenty others who dig this stuff too so I’ve decided to post a new piece every Friday as a series, “Vintage Ephemera Friday,” or #VEF on IG.

I encourage anyone else who reads this to also post cool old ephemeral goods (old papers, pins, magnets, pretty much all advertisement goods, whatever you like!) and post it with both “#VintageEphemeraFriday” and “#VEF” tags so in the future others can search through the collective finds.

For my fifth post, I’m posting a bit of trash. Well, the sellers at the estate sale thought it was trash. But I (and the previous owner) saw it differently. Mixed in with vintage sewing patterns was this rumpled bag from the shop, Ruggles.

 photo VEF_ruggles01_zpscg4chipl.jpg

From what I have seen online, Ruggles was a shop inside the park. Since this bag is marked ‘Disneyland Hotel’ I’m guessing it came later. It was a china and fine goods shop. Searching “Ruggles Disneyland” will bring up some cute knick-knacks in an internet search.
I love the floral print, but I just really love that some crafty lady made an effort to keep the bag. I hope it brought her good memories of a Disney trip when she came across it in her craft supplies.

 photo VEF_ruggles02_zps4g9tcfvp.jpg

Please feel free to join in and post your vintage ephemera finds here or on IG on Fridays! #vintageephemerafriday #vef

Leave a Reply

