Vintage Ephemera Friday #003

Ephemera is defined as something that is not meant to last long– often paper goods. I find myself picking up matchbook covers, postcards, and old magazines at estate sales, flea markets, etc. I know that there are plenty others who dig this stuff too so I’ve decided to post a new piece every Friday as a series, “Vintage Ephemera Friday,” or #VEF on IG.
I encourage anyone else who reads this to also post cool old ephemeral goods (old papers, pins, magnets, pretty much all advertisement goods, whatever you like!) and post it with both “#VintageEphemeraFriday” and “#VEF” tags so in the future others can search through the collective finds.

For my third post I’d like to show a couple of vintage Holiday Inn postcards. Don’t these feel like my Cabana Bay post?

 photo VEF_holidayinnpc01_zpsuqnxzaxe.jpg

I love the colors on the hotel building and I really miss the hotel/motel postcards of yesterday. With most travelers having easy access to social media it’s antiquated to send someone a postcard. It takes a lot more work than to make a post online. I still seek postcards out at flea markets and yard sales (I found these at an antique shop) and hope to see the mighty postcard have a comeback someday!

 photo VEF_holidayinnpc02_zpsiryt5wqv.jpg

I also like when hotel postcards also list the picture’s location on the back and are not just a general photo.

Please feel free to join in and post your vintage ephemera finds here or on IG on Fridays! #vintageephemerafriday #vef

Leave a Reply

