A Trip to the Long Beach Antique Market

 photo LBFleaMay_06_zpsxsnwh9rh.jpg

I recently visited the LB flea market at Veteran’s Stadium in Long Beach. It is a great monthly market that is open air near Long Beach City College. It is like the famous Rose Bowl flea, but I like the ease of this market better. The parking is free, there are only 2 price times (early bird is $12 and after 6:30 am is $6), and it isn’t as overwhelming as the Rose Bowl. I went to RB once a couple years ago and I felt like I could never see it all and the parking was very crowded. With Long Beach, it is much more relaxed but not a tiny show. There are rows and rows, but it’s still comfortably walked through in one visit.
It’s a great choice to browse for vintage treasures; I never walk out empty-handed! The event is usually on the third Sunday of the month, but sometimes they add extra shows. I visited this time during their special Memorial Day show. Check their official site for schedule and details.

 photo LBFleaMay_11_zpswfuvtz3r.jpg

Unless you are a reseller or looking for a specific item, you probably don’t need early bird entrance. There will still be plenty of goodies when you get in! There’s also plenty of parking with signs all over when you get close to the school.

 photo LBFleaMay_01_zpsvrk4fxd5.jpg

 photo LBFleaMay_02_zpsomohnszt.jpg

 photo LBFleaMay_03_zps1p8htk6g.jpg

 photo LBFleaMay_04_zpszehuf9c6.jpg

This was my favorite booth by far this trip– piles and piles of vintage linens! I spent a little time digging and scored one of my fave vintage finds EVER.

 photo LBFleaMay_05_zpswlozccfc.jpg

 photo LBFleaMay_07_zpsccc7toip.jpg

Is this the coolest stroller ever? It’s like the vintage Cadillac of strollers. I wonder who bought it?

 photo LBFleaMay_08_zpsaxyjm1br.jpg

 photo LBFleaMay_09_zpszrx0guvq.jpg

I really dig these shelves but have no place for them… the little kewpie on the ground makes me sad, though!

 photo LBFleaMay_10_zpsjpd8muko.jpg

My number one tip would be to bring cash, especially small bills. If you have exact change, there is a shortcut line at the entrances. Sellers also appreciate smaller bills so they don’t lose their change throughout the day. Also a little haggling is expected, but be nice!

I picked up a few treasures during this shopping trip and I will make a thrift post next week! If you have any questions please let me know if I can help. Also, if you have any flea market recommendations, please let me know I love a good vintage treasure hunt!

Leave a Reply

