Vintage Ephemera Friday #001

Ephemera is defined as something that is not meant to last long– often paper goods. I often find myself picking up matchbook covers, postcards, and old magazines at estate sales, flea markets, etc. I know that there are plenty others who dig this stuff too so I’ve decided to post a new piece every Friday as a series, “Vintage Ephemera Friday,” or #VEF on IG.
I encourage anyone else who reads this to also post cool old ephemeral goods (old papers, pins, magnets, pretty much all advertisement goods, whatever you like!) and post it with both “Vintage Ephemera Friday” and “#VEF” tags so in the future others can search through the collective finds.
For my first post, here is a darling two-sided bookmark I found in an old book that I found thrifting; it’s been so long I can’t remember which book! It has illustrated instructions on how to take proper care of books so they don’t get damaged.

 photo VEF_bookmark01_zps6yh6swhy.jpg

 photo VEF_bookmark02_zps5h5owimv.jpg

There are a few stains, but it’s in otherwise nice condition. I think it was protected by being stuck in a book for 50+ years. I love the anthropomorphizing of the little book and his squishy face is my fave:

 photo VEF_bookmark03_zpslhrn5c7t.jpg

Please feel free to join in and post your vintage ephemera finds here or on IG on Fridays! #vintageephemerafriday #vef

Leave a Reply

